Day 33: Camaiore to Lucca

For once I managed to get up quite early and leave before seven. The truth is, that after a month, I usually wake up at six anyway. So why not make something of it by arriving at places early, I thought.
So I stopped for a coffee and on I went. The first time the signs varied from the description in my book, I followed the signs. Only to find they were leading my in a strange zigzag way to avoid the road. All extra steps my friends. No thank you. So I went back on the road and ignored all signs. Finally I had to climb up a steep hill covered in horse flies. Again. These little monsters are everywhere! The views are great however. And just so that you know they still exist, here is a picture of a madonna shrine…

IMG_5993.JPG

IMG_5992.JPG

IMG_5991.JPG
The landscape is very hilly and the sun is quite strong already at 9am. But there is shade again and again, and I pass through some very nice little villages.

IMG_5997.JPG

IMG_5996.JPG

IMG_5994.JPG

IMG_5995.JPG
I reached Lucca by 12.30pm. Entering through one of the old gates, I make my way to the tourist office to get a map.

IMG_6002.JPG
After checking into the hostel, I have some lunch and climb a really important tower called Torre Guinigi to have an amazing view of the city. After doing the first steps, I realize I have already walked 25km in the morning. The view is amazing though.

IMG_6005.JPG

IMG_6009.JPG

IMG_6006.JPG
I make my way to the cathedral, where the entrance is free for pilgrims (everything costs money here. Tourist town…) so we can get the stamp.

IMG_6016.JPG

IMG_6015.JPG

IMG_6014.JPG

IMG_6013.JPG
I have a coffee and meet an Italian guy who used to work in Timmendorf, next to where I live… He says we should have dinner together. At 21.30. Italian time. Too late for me. And I wanted to be on my own anyway. I keep wandering to look at everything important and then go to a Puccini concert in a church in the evening. Very happy!

IMG_6019-0.JPG

IMG_6020-0.JPG

IMG_6021-0.JPG

IMG_6024-0.JPG
Returning to the hostel I run into Mery, the Spanish pilgrim I met on day two. Since she wants to go there too, we head to Pisa together today. A day to relax from the pilgrimage…

One response

  1. Viel Spaß in Pisa,… und stell den Turm mal wieder gerade

    Like

    August 31, 2014 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

