Day 41&42: Badia Isola to Siena to Ponte d’Arbio

Yesterday the boys and I started early to go to Monteriggioni which is an old village up a hill and then walk for ages, coming by a pretty cattle and stopping at a rest place for pilgrims to get to Siena, a very beautiful city along the way. The walk was long but doable. As I said, I’m kind of getting bored with the walking. I have to admit though, that the landscape is beautiful!

IMG_6356.JPG

IMG_6359.JPG

IMG_6360.JPG

IMG_6362.JPG

IMG_6363.JPG

IMG_6368.JPG

IMG_6366.JPG
This morning then we start really early because the day will be around 28km. It’s nice when we leave, all foggy.

IMG_6375.JPG

IMG_6377.JPG
We manage to do 14k before the first break which then last for over an hour. It’s ten o’clock by then. When we continue walking, the sun has come out and it’s boiling hot. The landscape is beautiful, no doubt, but I do reach my pain limit and find myself wanting to simply lie down in the shade and never get back up again. I keep walking however. Why? I guess it’s just common sense, knowing that you have to reach that place where you can shower, eat and sleep. Eventually we separate because everyone has their own speed. And after only three minutes of a stop I set out to do the last rice kilometres of today. When the sign appears saying that there are only two left it saves my life. I can’t begin to explain how tough tidal was for me. Maybe it’s just a mental thing, but u really didn’t want to move anymore. I did, none the less, and I ended up in this really beautiful place, where they provide you with everything you need, including food. That’s the thing. I suffer. And I hate it. And then I get to a place unknown that really blows my head of, and everything is forgotten. I’m happy again. And I know, somehow, I’ll survive another long day like this tomorrow.

IMG_6385.JPG

IMG_6381.JPG

3 responses

  1. Hey Kate, das ist es doch, dass man am Abend wieder weiter ist und das unerträgliche ertragen wurde. Wenn dann noch eine schöne Belohnung dazu kommt …
    Ich wäre gerne dabei.

    Gruß auch an Jesper, wenn du ihn siehst

    Like

    September 8, 2014 at 8:06 pm

  2. Joanne King

    Hi Kate, I’m glad that at the end of the day you found salvation! Courage and onwards!

    Like

    September 8, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    • Thanks Jo! I did. Now reached the 100km mark. Five more days to Rome…!

      Like

      September 13, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

